IMTA 2022 LogoIMTA 2022 Banner

Raleigh, North Carolina, USA, 2022

The 62nd Annual IMTA Conference was held in Raleigh/NC, USA from March 7th till March 11th 2022 and was hosted by the Society of Military Psychology (APA Division 19). Originally, the conference should have taken place in October 2020, which was not possible due to the Corona pandemic. The first postponement date of autumn 2021 could also not be realized. At the third attempt, it finally worked out and more than 100 participants from 17 nations were visibly happy to finally exchange ideas with their colleagues in person again. As always, the program was very diverse and the numerous sessions, symposia as well as the poster presentation stimulated inspiring discussions. It should also be emphasized that the conference hosts succeeded in attracting numerous keynote speakers who provided interesting insights into their fields of research and practice.

The General Assembly was very pleased to accept two new IMTA members:

  • The Italian Army Military Psychology and Psychiatry Office represented by Lt Col Mariano Pizzo, and
  • the Psychology Service of the Spanish Armed Forces represented by Major Fernando J. Rodrigues Alonso

Furthermore, the General Assembly accepted the Management Board’s suggestion to give the Society for Military Psychology (APA Division 19) voting rights.

It must not go unmentioned that the General Assembly endorsed the nominations of Maj Dr. Salvatore Lo Bue and Dr. Christoph Brugger for the 2022 Harry H. Greer Award.

The conference also included warm and well attended social events: a ‘Meet and Greet’, an IBTA event rich in all aspects and a very nice buffet all held at the conference site gave IMTA the usual and much appreciated social setting.

Dr. Eric A. Surface deserved the "planned three times, carried out once"-award, thanks to his commitment and tireless efforts, he made this conference possible at all. Under the most difficult conditions, he succeeded in making the 62nd IMTA conference an outstanding one.

The 2022 group photo
Maj Dr. Salvatore Lo Bue, Royal Military Academy, Brussels, 2022 Harry H. Greer Award recipient
Dr. Christoph Brugger, 2022 Harry H. Greer Award recipient